Canaan Partners Closes Latest Venture Capital Fund, at $800M

Canaan Partners, a global venture capital firm, has closed its latest fund, at $800m.

Canaan XI, the firm’s largest fund, is an early stage technology and healthcare vehicle which will invest in such areas as fintech, marketplaces, enterprise/cloud and biopharma at the seed or Series A stage.

As we look ahead, we see a deep roster of talent for Canaan’s future and know that with our next generation — including Joydeep Bhattacharyya (Partner), Brendan Dickinson (Partner), Julie Papanek Grant (Partner), Colleen Cuffaro (Principal) and Michael Gilroy (Principal) — we are laying the foundation for another thirty years of success.

Founded in 1987, Canaan targets early-stage investments across a wide range of sectors including financial technology, marketplaces and enterprise software, as well as biopharma, oncology and digital health. With $4.2 billion under management and over approx. 180 exits to-date, the firm was the first and lead investor in Lending Club (NYSE: LC), the fourth largest internet IPO in the U.S., and realized nine healthcare M&As and three IPOs since 2014.
Canaan has funded technology companies such as eBates (acquired by Rakuten, Inc.), Metacloud (acquired by Cisco), Skybox Imaging (acquired by Google), SuccessFactors (acquired by SAP), Tremor Video (NYSE: TRMR) and Virsto Software (acquired by VMWare), as well as notable healthcare companies such as CytomX Therapeutics (NASDAQ: CTMX), Dermira (NASDAQ: DERM), Labrys Biologics (acquired by Teva Pharmaceutical), Novira Therapeutics (acquired by Johnson & Johnson), Spinifex Pharmaceuticals (acquired by Novartis) and Transcend Medical (acquired by Alcon).

The team includes:
– Adina Tecklu
– Brendan Dickinson
– Brent Ahrens
– Colleen Cuffaro
– Dan Ciporin
– Deepak Kamra
– Eric Young
– Guy Russo
– Hootan Rashidifard
– Hrach Simonian
– Janet Bell
– John Balen
– Joydeep Bhattacharyya
– Ju-Djuin Csontos
– Julie Papanek Grant
– Laura Chau
– Len Post
– Maha Ibrahim
– Michael Gilroy
– Nairi Hourdajian
– Nina Kjellson
– Peter Farina
– Rayfe Gaspar-Asaoka
– Rich Boyle
– Stephen Bloch
– Tim Shannon
– Warren Lee
– Wende Hutton



Join the discussion