The Blavatnik Awards for Young Scientists Expands to UK

The Blavatnik Awards for Young Scientists, a US-based awards program established by the Blavatnik Family Foundation in 2007, is expanding to the United Kingdom.

In a move that will bring over £10m of inward investment to the UK scientific community, the awards, administered by The New York Academy of Sciences, recognize young scientists and engineers in three subject categories:
– Life Sciences,
– Physical Sciences, and
– Engineering, and Chemistry.

The UK awards will recognize faculty-rank scientists from Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland and England under the age of 42. Three winners (one in each category) will receive $100k each in unrestricted funds; two finalists in each category will receive $30k each.
Award candidates will be nominated by their university or research institution, or through the UK Scientific Advisory Council, consisting of eminent scientists and engineers including Nobel Laureate John O’Keefe and Jackie Hunter, former CEO of the Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council. The finalists and winners will be chosen by a jury comprised of some of the world’s most distinguished scientists and engineers.

Over the past decade, over $4 million has been awarded to 125 scientists in the US.

Nominations for the UK Blavatnik Awards open on 3rd May 2017. The finalists and winners will be announced at the awards ceremony in March 2018. Universities and research institutions can nominate candidates via



Join the discussion